## ST. MARY'S UNIVERSITY



## SCHOLARSHIP REQUIREMENTS

Alamo Chapter/Armed Forces Communications Electronics Association Annual Computer Information Systems Security Scholarship

- 1. Students must be actively pursuing a computer science, computer information systems, cybersecurity, computer engineering, or software engineering program, concentration, or minor.
- 2. Preference will be given to students who are members of any University team participating in one or more of the various cyber security-related collegiate competitions such as NCCDC, DC3, or Panoply. Preference will be given to students enrolled in ROTC, active members of the armed services and their immediate families, and veterans of the armed services. Military-affiliated applicants, and other than ROTC students. Preference will be given to students who are members of AFCEA.
- 3. One scholarship of \$2500 will be reserved for freshman- or sophomore-level students who have completed a minimum of 24 credit hours at the time the scholarship funds are disbursed.
- 4. Two scholarships of \$5000 each will be awarded to junior, senior, or graduate students. Junior level recipients must have completed a minimum of 54 credit hours, and senior level recipients must have completed a minimum of 84 credit hours towards their degree at the time the scholarship funds are disbursed.
- 5. At the time of scholarship award, students must meet minimum cumulative grade point average requirements on a scale of 4.0:
  - Entering Freshmen year students 3.0 on high school transcript or 2.8 on University transcript
  - Entering Sophomore year students 2.8
  - Junior or senior year students 3.0
  - Graduate students 3.2

- 6. Recipients must be enrolled in at least 12 hours for undergraduate and 9 hours for graduate students. An exception may be made on a case-by-case basis when the student is not required to take 12 credit hours (for undergraduate) and 9 hours (for graduate) to graduate.
- 7. Final selection of the scholarship recipients will be made by the University's scholarship committee, which will include faculty or staff from the School of Science, Engineering, and Technology.